When you proactively move from the free plan to a paid plan, you are authorizing Privy to charge you immediately for you first month's payment.
We've designed the upgrade path to include several steps, where we clearly list the price of the plan you are choosing, and that you'll be billed immediately after clicking "Confirm Upgrade".
We understand that selecting a plan that is the right fit for your business is a key consideration when using our services. For that reason we certainly welcome you to speak to our Support team prior to an upgrade. Privy Support is available to answer any questions via chat or email Monday - Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm EST.
Should you decide that a plan or add-on service does not meet your business needs, you can downgrade prior to your next month bill cycle to prevent any future charges. This does not constitute a refund.
*Billing Cycles:* If you upgrade today you will be billed the same day on the following month. You can cancel prior to that date to avoid future charges. The same is also true in reverse, if you are downgrading from a paid plan, your plan features will be downgraded immediately following this process.
Our billing team reviews all refunds on a case by case basis. There are however, times in which we cannot issue a refund. These include:
*Annual billing*: Annual billing provides our customers with a discount off of the normal monthly rate. The only difference in this instance is that it requires a one lump sum payment for the entire year. This billing comes with a higher up front cost but a significant discount overall. Because we are already offering this option at a discounted rate, we cannot extend refunds on plans that are opted into annual billing.
*Switching plans:* There are instances in which you may decide to switch from one paid plan to another. When this occurs, a refund is not required. As an example, if you switch from a plan that is charged $24 per month to a plan that is billed at $79 per month, you will not be double billed. You will only be charged the difference. The opposite is also true: If you downgrade from a higher priced plan to a lower priced plan, we will prorate everything and make sure that the funds you’ve already paid are applied to future months.
*Using a promo code:* Some of our users have received specialty promo codes that can be used to receive discounted pricing on our plans. We cannot issue refunds on plans that are receiving these discounts. The existing promo code only applies to the plan that is currently active on the account. If upgrading to a higher paid plan, the coupon code will no longer apply.
Please note: Privy Add-ons and Credit Card billing are billed separately and do not cancel automatically when downgrading or uninstalling the application.